Florida Moves to License Personal Trainers
By: David L. Herbert, Attorney at Law, David L. Herbert & Associates, LLC,
Attorneys & Counselors at Law, Canton, Ohio 44718; http://www.herblaw.com/
Editor, The Exercise, Sports and Sports Medicine Standards & Malpractice Reporter
PRC Publishing, Inc., Canton, Ohio 44735; http://www.prcpublishing.com/
Author, The Personal Trainer, A Tale of Pain, Gain, Greed & Lust
On March 10, 2014, Florida State Senator Maria Sachs introduced SB 1616 into the Florida legislature. This bill is formulated to require the licensure of personal trainers in that state. The proposed law specifies the creation of a Board of Personal Training as well as the formation of the Florida Fitness Instructors and Trainers Management Corporation, a not-for-profit to provide administrative and professional services to the Board.
The Senate Bill specifies certain requirements for those who wish to become licensed as personal trainers in Florida. These requirements include the following:
- completion of the required application and payment of the specified fees;
- being at least 18 years of age;
- being a high school graduate or having completed its equivalent;
- being certified in CPR and AED from the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association, or an equivalent;
- being certified from a program that is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) or the Distance Education and Training Council (DETC) and that is recognized and approved by the [B]oard;
- passing the licensure examination;
- being in good standing with the Board and the Management Corporation.
The law will require continuing education for licensed personal trainers not to exceed 24 credit hours every two years and additional training in CPR/AED as established by the Management Corporation. The fees to be required are established in the law and are proposed as follows:
- An application fee, not to exceed $100;
- An examination fee, not to exceed $200;
- An initial licensure fee, not to exceed $200;
- A biennial license renewal fee, not to exceed $200;
- An inactive license fee, not to exceed $100;
- A delinquent application fee, not to exceed $100;
- A license reactivation fee, not to exceed $100;
- A voluntary inactive license fee, not to exceed $100.
In one certain respect, the law virtually mirrors the 2006 final resolution of IHRSA on the certification of personal trainers which recommended that its member clients hire only those personal trainers who were certified by an organization accredited by either the NCCA or DETC.
# # #